1. Home
  2. Entertainment
  3. Bollywood
  4. Pics: Jr NTR, Rakul Preet Singh

Pics: Jr NTR, Rakul Preet Singh win big at SIIMA Awards 2017 day 1

India TV Entertainment Desk New Delhi 01 Jul 2017, 12:54:40 IST
India TV Entertainment Desk

Day one of the South Indian International Movie Awards (SIIMA) was held in Abu Dhabi on June 30. Dedicated to Telugu and Kannada films, the first day was filled with mesmerizing performances, amazing fashion quotient and big wins. Popular faces of the Telugu film industry Jr NTR, Rakul Preet Singh won the Best Actor and Best Actress awards. 

Before the awards was announced, a tribute was paid to the late Dasari Narayana Rao who was one of the seasoned Indian filmmakers with two National Awards under his belt.

Srikanth's son Roshan and Allu Sirish hosted the evening that was packed with some electrifying performances from many celebs that include Shubra Aiyappa and Regina Cassandra. Before the start of the event, a tribute was paid to late filmmaker Dasari Narayana Rao. 

SIIMA Awards is one of the most prestigious award ceremonies and the first international awards function that has taken the South Indian film industry to a global level. It honours the best of south Indian movies and actors, actresses, directors, cinematographers and many others.

The second day of SIIMA awards will be held tonight at Abu Dhabi and will honour Malayalam and Tamil films. Many bigwigs from the industry are in the city for the event. Have a look at the complete list of SIIMA Awards winners right here

Muralimohan Maganti – Lifetime Achievement Award.
Roshan  - Best Debut award (Male) for Nirmala Convent
Junior NTR - Best Actor for Nannaku Prematho
Rakul Preet - Best Actor (Female) for Nannaku Prematho.
Devi Sri Prasad – Best Telugu Music Director for Janatha Garage
Nani – Best Actor (Critic) Award.
Nivetha Thomas – Best Debutant Actress (Telugu).
Srikanth Meka – Best Supporting Actor (Telugu).
Rama Joagaiah Sastri – Best Lyricist (Telugu) for Pranamam from Janatha Garage.
Anasuya Bharadwaj – Best Supporting Actress (Telugu) for Kshanam.
Shivaraj Kumar – Best Actor (Kannada) for Shivalinga.
Shraddha Srinath – Best Actress (Kannada).
Kirik Party – Best Movie (Kannada).

For more Entertainment Stories, click here