1. Home
  2. Entertainment
  3. Bollywood
  4. 'Love Aaj Kal' Grabs 5 Awards;

'Love Aaj Kal' Grabs 5 Awards; 'Rab' Wins Best Actor For SRK

PTI 09 Jan 2010, 13:58:56 IST

Imtiaz Ali's `Love Aaj Kal', depicting the essence of love as felt by two different generations, and one of the few box office successes in 2009, continued its winning streak bagging five honours at the Apsara TV and Film Awards. 

`Rab Ne Bana Di Jodi' from the Chopra camp featuring Shah Rukh Khan and Aamir Khan starrer`Ghajini' were at second position with each bagging as many as four awards at a function here last evening. 

`Love...' bagged honours for Best Costume Design (Anita Shroff Adajania and Dolly Ahluwalia Tiwari), Best Music (Pritam), Best Singer Male (Mohit Chauhan), Best Story (Imtiaz Ali) and Best Actor in a supporting role. 

Shah Rukh Khan was adjudged Best Actor for his portrayal of a devoted husband undergoing a makeover to woo his wife in `Rab Ne ...', which also won awards for Best Choreography (Shimak Dawar), Best Lyrics (Jaideep Sahani), and Best Singer Female (Shreya Ghosal). 

Priyanka Chopra's Marathi act in one of the most sharp films in Bollywood, `Kaminey' won her the Best Actress trophy. 

`Ghajini', which made record in box office collections, won awards for Best Film, Best Director, Best Screenplay (A R Murugadoss) and Best Editing (Anthony). 

Lifetime Achievement Award was conferred to Amitabh Bachchan. Heartbeat of the Nation (Male) honour was presented to Shahid Kapur, while Deepika Padukone won the same in the female category.

One of the costliest films of last year, `Blue', which sank without a trace at the box office, pocketed two awards in technical category - Best Sound Recording (Resul Pookutty and Amit Pritam) and Best Special Effects (Merzin Tavaria and Rupal Rawal). 

In the TV category, `Uttran' was adjudged Best Serial in the fiction category, while game show `Dus Ka Dam', hosted by Salman Khan, was selected Best Show in non-fiction space.

`Uttran' bagged Best Actor and Actress trophies too, won by Ayub Khan and Tina Dutta respectively, a release said. PTI