1. Home
  2. India
  3. Major reshuffle in Delhi Police

Major reshuffle in Delhi Police

PTI 18 Apr 2016, 22:25:15 PM IST

New Delhi: In a major reshuffle, 12 senior Delhi Police officers were given new assignments and Deepak Mishra, who was Special Commissioner (administration) and second in command in the force, was transferred to the CRPF on a Central deputation today.

Erstwhile Joint Commissioners S K Gautam (central range), Sanjay Beniwal (eastern range) and R S Krishnia (south-eastern range) have been made chiefs of Security, Operations and Armed Police & Recruitment units, official sources said.

Earlier in the day, Mishra, was appointed Additional DG of the Central Reserve Police Force on a deputation basis.

Mishra, who was a contender for the post of the Delhi Police chief after the retirement of B S Bassi, will retire in November 2018. He was immediately relieved from the post of Special Commission to enable him to take charge at the CRPF, sources said.

Special Commissioner of the Operation wing of Delhi Police, Sundari Nanda, will take over the post of SpecialCommissioner for Women safety, Airport and Modernisation, a newly-created position in the force.

V Ranganathan, an IPS officer of 1997 batch, will be the new Joint Commissioner of Delhi Police’s anti-terrorism unit Special Cell, sources said.

The position of Joint Commissioners in the central, eastern and south-eastern ranges have been taken over by V S Chahal, presently posted at Security unit, Satish Golcha, presently at the Economic Offences Wing, and  R P Upadhyay, who was recently transferred to Delhi.

Sandeep Goel will be the new chief of Delhi Traffic Police, a department in which he had earlier served as a Joint Commissioner. Two posts of Joint Commissioner in the Traffic department has been created and Garima Bhatnagar and A K Ojha have been appointed to these posts, sources added.