1. Home
  2. India
  3. 10 new DIGs, SPs appointed in

10 new DIGs, SPs appointed in CBI; three others get extension

PTI 06 Apr 2016, 20:36:01 IST

New Delhi: Faced with acute shortage of staff, the CBI today got 10 new officers at the senior level and extension in deputation tenure of three Superintendents of Police working in the probe agency.

Senior IPS officer Sharad Agarwal, who is currently working with Delhi Police, has been appointed as Deputy Inspector General (DIG) for five years, an order issued by Department of Personnel and Training (DoPT) said.
Agarwal is a 1997 batch IPS officer of union territories cadre. The Home Ministry is requested to take up the matter with the state government concerned immediately in respect of Agarwal, in order to enable him to join the CBI on deputation basis, it said.

Read Also: Speeding car mows down a youth in Delhi, victim's family seek justice

Besides him, six IPS officers already working as SPs in the CBI have been inducted as DIG. They are Vineet Brijal, Atul Fulzele, Soorya Thankappan, G K Verma, Deepak M Damor and Tarun Gauba, the order said.
Three IPS officers, who have been appointed as SP in the CBI, are Asra Garg, S Kiran and Daljeet Singh. Garg is a 2004 batch IPS officer of Tamil Nadu cadre while Kiran is from Uttar Pradesh cadre. Singh is a 2007 batch IPS officer of Bihar cadre.
“MHA is requested to take up the matter with the state governments concerned immediately for their relieving in order to enable them to join the CBI on deputation basis,” it said.

The tenure of three officers—Rajiv Ranjan, Jose Mohan and Rakesh Rathi—already working as SP in the CBI has been extended for nearly three years, the order said.
As per CBIs latest data, a total of 1,641 posts are vacant in the agency against its sanctioned strength of 7,274.