1. Home
  2. India
  3. Ashok Chakra For Army Havildar; Rukhsana

Ashok Chakra For Army Havildar; Rukhsana Gets Kirti Chakra

PTI 25 Jan 2010, 20:38:32 IST

Havildar Rajesh Kumar of 11 Rajputana Rifles was on Sunday  named for the country's highest peace time gallantry medal Ashok Chakra, while Rukhsana Kosser and her brother Ajaz, who killed a militant to protect their family in Jammu and Kashmir, have been named for Kirti Chakra, the second highest medal, on the eve of Republic Day today.  

Their names figured among one Ashok Chakra, six Kirti Chakra, 26  Ashok Chakra, three Bar to Sena Medals, three Nao Sena Medals and three Vayu Sena Medals, all for gallantry, approved by President Pratibha Patil.  22-year-old girl Rukhsana had killed an LeT militant and injured another at Kalsian village in Rajouri district on the night of September 27 last year. She, along with her brother Aijaz, overpowered the terrorist, snatched his rifle and fired at him, killing him on the spot. 

Rukhsana is now a Jammu and Kashmir Police officer.  Others to receive Kriti Chakra are Maj Suresh Suri of Kumaon Regiment/13 Rastriya Rifles, Maj Pushpender Singh of Rajputana Rifles/28 Assam Rifles, Sub-Inspector Bhopal Singh of Sashastra Seema Bal and Constable Rel Deo Sangma of Meghalaya Police Special Operation Team.  Kumar, Maj Suri, Sub-Inspector Singh and Constable Sangma will receive the medals posthumously.

Kumar was killed in a gunfight with terrorists in a forest area of Kupwara district of Jammu and Kashmir on August 1 last year. He had eliminated a terrorist in the operation and fought on after receiving a gun shot.

Maj Suri was killed during a cordon and search operation in Jammu and Kashmir and he had shot dead a terrorist in the fight that ensued despite a gun shot wound he suffered.  Maj Singh would receive the medal for his daring gun battles against terror and militant groups in the northeast. 

Apart from these gallantry medals, Patil also approved 28 Param Vishisht Seva Medals, four Uttam Yudh Seva medals, one Bar to Sena Medals, 38 Sena Medals, eight Nao Sena Medals and 14 Vayu Sena Medals, two Bar to Vishsht Seval Medals and 119 Vishisht Seva Medals, all for devotion to duty.  Major Mohit Sharma (posthumously) of 1 Para (Special Forces) and Major D Sreeram Kumar of 30 Assam Rifles, who were named for the Ashok Chakra om Independence Day eve, will receive their medals tomorrow. PTI