1. Home
  2. India
  3. BJP Rules Out Change In Leadership,

BJP Rules Out Change In Leadership, Yeddyurappa To Continue

PTI 07 Dec 2010, 21:31:35 IST
Bangalore, Dec 7: BJP chief Nitin Gadkari today set at rest speculations over change in leadership of Karnataka government in the wake of land scam allegations, saying that B S Yeddyurappa would continue as the chief minister.

"The BJP high command is solidly behind Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa with full support," party President Nitin Gadkari announced at a press conference here after holding meetings with state unit office bearers, legislators and ministers.

"We do not want to create any instability in the state over the leadership issue. Yeddyurappa will continue as the Chief Minister," he said.

However, he said, "there are certain problems within the party and these problems will be discussed and solved in the party forum."

Gadkari, who went around the city for an on-the-spot inspection of development works with Yeddyurappa, rated the performance of the first-ever BJP Government in the south as "outstanding".

The BJP central leadership had on November 24 allowed Yeddyurappa to continue in office after contemplating to remove him following land scam charges.

Yeddyurappa had, then, managed to save his post raising the issue of stability of the government if he was removed.

Earlier, addressing a meeting of BJP state unit office- bearers, Gadkari told them in clear terms that the party was in no mood to change the chief minister.

He asked BJP workers to unitedly fight the coming zilla and taluk panchayat polls to ensure the party's victory.

The BJP chief said he was confident of the party's victory under the leadership of Yeddyurappa and K S Eshwrappa (state unit chief).

"The results of the zilla parishad and taluk panchayats should be in such a fashion that it should serve to be a befitting reply to those who have been expressing doubts over the leadership of Yeddyuppa," he said.

Gadkari exhorted partymen to display the unity shown by Opposition parties in attacking the government and stretch the winning streak it started in 2008 Assembly elections to the upcoming panchayat polls. PTI