1. Home
  2. India
  3. Rosaiah Made TN Governor, Farook Shifted

Rosaiah Made TN Governor, Farook Shifted To Kerala

PTI 26 Aug 2011, 18:37:18 IST

New Delhi, Aug 26: Former Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister K Rosaiah was today appointed as the new Tamil Nadu Governor while Jharkhand Governor M O H Farook was shifted to Kerala in a slew of announcements for gubernatorial posts by President Pratibha Patil.

Konijeti Rosaiah (78) replaces Surjit Singh Barnala who took over the post on June 20, 2006. Rosaiah, a prominent leader from Guntur, assumed charge as AP Chief Minister on September 3, 2009 after the death of the then Chief Minister of the state Y S Rajsekhara Reddy in a helicopter crash, and held the post till November 24, 2010.

The President has also given additional charge of Goa to Maharashtra Governor K Sankaranarayanan, a Rashtrapati Bhavan statement said.

Sankaranarayan and Farook will carry on their new assignments till the end of their terms, it said. Their terms will end in January, 2015.

President has also appointed Ram Naresh Yadav as Governor of Madhya Pradesh, Vakkom Purushothaman as Governor of Mizoram and Syed Ahmed as Governor of Jharkhand. “Their appointments will take effect from the dates they assume their respective charges,” the statement said. 79-year old Sankaranarayanan had assumed charge Maharashtra Governor on January 22, 2010. Before coming to Maharashtra, he was appointed the Governor of Nagaland on February 3, 2007 and held the post till July 25, 2009 when he was appointed Jharkhand Governor.

Farook, 73-year old leader from Puducherry, took over as Jharkhand Governor on January 22, 2010. He was also the Ambassador of India to Saudi Arabia from September 2004 to December 2009.

Vakkom B Purushothaman is 83-year old veteran Congress leader from Vakkom, Kerala. He has been the member of All India Congress Committee for over 25-years. An advocate, Purushothaman held the post of Lt. Governor of Andaman and Nicobar Islands for three years from March 1993. Yadav, 83-year old leader from Azamgarh, Uttar Pradesh was the Chief Minister of the state from 1977-79 as Janta Party member. He has contested 2004 Lok Sabha elections rom Azamgarh on a Congress ticket but lost.

Syed Ahmed is a former Maharashtra Cabinet Minister. PTI