1. Home
  2. World
  3. Kajita, McDonald win Nobel physics prize

Kajita, McDonald win Nobel physics prize

India TV News Desk 06 Oct 2015, 16:30:59 IST
India TV News Desk

Stockholm: Takaaki Kajita of Japan and Arthur McDonald of Canada have won the Nobel Prize in physics for the discovery of neutrino oscillations.

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences said the two researchers had made key contributions to experiments showing that neutrinos change identities.

"The discovery has changed our understanding of the innermost workings of matter and can prove crucial to our view of the universe," the academy said.

Read Also: Controversial Nobel Prize winners

Kajita is director of the Institute for Cosmic Ray Research and professor at the University of Tokyo.  

McDonald is a professor emeritus at Queen's University in Kingston, Canada.

The winners will split the 8 million Swedish kronor (about USD 960,000) prize money.

Each winner also gets a diploma and a gold medal at the prize ceremony on December 10.