1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. National
  4. A day after three Congress MLAs

A day after three Congress MLAs join BSP, 7 legislators from three parties join BJP

India TV Politics Desk Lucknow 11 Aug 2016, 18:58:00 PM IST
India TV Politics Desk

As the Assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh get closer, the politics of switching allegiance is gaining pace. A day after one BJP and three Congress MLAs joined the BSP, seven legislators from three political parties joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Thursday.

They included Harvinder Kumar Sahni (Palia-Lakhimpur), Bala Prasad Awasthi (Mohammadi-Lakhimpur) and Rajesh tripathi (Chillupar-Gorakhpur) of the BSP, Sher Bahadur (Jalalpur) of the Samajwadi Party as well as Sanjay Prasad Jaiswal (Rudauli-Basti), Vijay Dubey (Khadda-Kushinagar) and Madhuri Verma (Nanpara-Bahraich) of the Congress.

Their membership has been accepted by state party president Keshav Prasad Maurya.

It came two days after BSP stalwart Swamy Prasad Maurya joined the BJP in Delhi, in presence of party president Amit Shah. 

Yesterday, three Congress MLAs - Nawab Qazim Ali from Swar in Rampur district, Mohammad Muslim from Tiloi in Amethi, and Dilnawaz Khan from Bulandshahr- joined the BSP ‘unconditionally’.

Samajwadi Party legislator from Budhana (Muzaffarnagar) and former BJP minister Avdesh Verma have also joined the Mayawati-led party.

They are likely to get BSP tickets to contest assembly elections due next year.