1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. National
  4. BMC polls: BJP to contest 195

BMC polls: BJP to contest 195 seats, leaves 32 for allies

India TV Politics Desk New Delhi 03 Feb 2017, 12:51:22 IST
India TV Politics Desk

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has decided to contest 195 seats in the upcoming Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) polls leaving 32 seats for its allies.

Ashish Shelar, Mumbai BJP President, declared the list of candidates late Thursday night. 

The election for 227-member Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation will take place on February 21.

Today is the last day of filing nominations for polls to Indias richest civic body.

A statement issued by Shelar earlier today said the BJP has fielded 117 Marathi candidates.

Some nominations in the list have also raised eyebrows as they are relatives of BJP leaders. BJP MP Kirit Somaiya’s son Neil has been nominated from ward no 108 in Mulund West.

Deepak Thakur, son of Maharashtras Minister of State for Women and Child Development Vidya Thakur, will contest from ward no 50 in Goregaon.

Besides, city BJP chief Ashish Shelars brother Vinod will contest from ward 51. Vinod is a sitting corporator from Malad, but his ward is now reserved for women.

In Colaba, legislator Raj Purohit’s son Aakash will be the party candidate from ward no 222. Aakash is politically active in the area and was a BJP nominee on BEST committee.

BJP legislator Ameet Satam’s brother-in-law Rohan Rathod will contest from ward no 68 in Andheri West.

In the neighbouring Versova, the BJP has nominated Yogiraj Dhabhalkar in ward no 60. He is legislator Bharti Lavekars nephew.

(With PTI inputs)