1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. National
  4. Captain Amarinder Singh sworn-in as 26th

Captain Amarinder Singh sworn-in as 26th Chief Minister of Punjab

India TV Politics Desk Amritsar 16 Mar 2017, 12:55:18 IST
India TV Politics Desk

Senior Congress leader Captain Amarinder Singh was today sworn-in as the 26th Chief Minister of Punjab.

Singh, who led his party  to a resounding victory in the Punjab Assembly elections, was administered oath of office and secrecy by Governor V P Singh Badnore at the Raj Bhawan.

Along with Captain Amarinder Singh, Navjot SIngh Sidhu, Manpreet Badal, Brahm Mohindra, Charanjit Channi, Rana Gurjit and Tripat Bajwa were also sworn-in as cabinet ministers of Punjab government.

Aruna Choudhary and Razia Sultana were sworn in as ministers of state with independent charge.

Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi,  former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh were among the top Congress leaders who attended the swearing-in ceremony. 

This is the second time that Amarinder, 75, has become Chief Minister of the state. He earlier held the office from 2002 to 2007.

Navjot Singh Sidhu was also administered the oath of office and secrecy by Punjab Governor V.P. Singh Badnore.

However, Sidhu has not been designated as Deputy Chief Minister, as was being speculated in political circles.

Sidhu, who joined the Congress party in January, just days ahead of the February 4 assembly elections in Punjab, won the Amritsar-east assembly seat with a margin of over 42,000 votes.