1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. National
  4. Nitish Kumar expands ministry: Full list

Nitish Kumar expands ministry: Full list of portfolios and ministers

In the 243-member House, a maximum of 37 ministers are allowed as per the constitutional provisions.
Written by: India TV Politics Desk Patna July 29, 2017 22:55 IST
India TV Politics Desk

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar today expanded his Cabinet by inducting 27 new ministers from his Janata Dal (United) and the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance. The new ministers were administered the oath of office and secrecy at a function at the Raj Bhavan by Governor Keshri Nath Tripathi. 

Only Kumar and Sushil Modi were sworn-in as the Chief Minister and the Deputy Chief Minister on July 27 and the ministry was expanded a day after the new JD(U)-NDA government won the confidence vote in the Bihar Assembly. In the 243-member House, a maximum of 37 ministers are allowed as per the constitutional provisions. 

Full list of portfolios and ministers: 

Nitish Kumar: Home, Vigilance, General Administration 

Sushil Kumar Modi: Finance, Commercial Taxes, Environment and Forest and Information Technology

Prem Kumar: Agriculture 

Bijendra Prasad Yadav: Energy, Prohibition and Excise

Lallan Singh: Water Resources Department, Planning & Development

Nand Kishore Yadav: Road Construction 

Shrawan Kumar: Parliamentary Affairs, Rural Development 

Ram Narayan Mandal: Department of Revenue and Land Reforms 

Jay Kumar Singh: Dept of Industries, Science & Technology

Pramod Kumar: Tourism 

Krishna Nandan Prasad Verma: Education

Maheshwar Hazari: Building Construction Dept

Vinod Narayan Jha: Public Health Engineering Dept

Shailesh Kumar: Rural Works 

Suresh Kumar Sharma: Urban Development Department

Kumari Manju Verma: Social Welfare

Vijay Kumar Sinha: Labour Resources

Santosh Kumar Nirala: Transport

Rana Randhir Singh: Cooperative Department

Khurshid alias Firoz Ahmad: Minority Welfare and Sugarcane Development 

Vinod Kumar Singh: Mines and Geology

Madan Sahni: Food & Consumer Protection

Krishna Kumar Rishi: Art and Culture 

Kapil Dev Kamat: Panchayati Raj

Dinesh Chandra Yadav: Minor Irrigation and Disaster Management 

Ramesh Rishidev: SC, ST Welfare 

Brij Kishore Bind: Backward and EBC Welfare 

Pashupati Paras: Animal and Fish Resources