1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. National
  4. Uttarakhand polls: Congress ministers go beyond

Uttarakhand polls: Congress ministers go beyond constituencies to ensure victory for Rawat

India TV Politics Desk Nainital 11 Jan 2017, 13:11:25 IST
India TV Politics Desk

With the opinion polls conducted by media channels showing Congress struggling in Uttar Pradesh, the party is leaving no stone unturned to ensure a victory in the upcoming Uttarakhand Assembly polls. 

According to a Hindustan Times report, Congress ministers in the Harish Rawat government are going beyond their seats to ensure the party’s victory in the state. 

Congress vice-president Rahul Gandhi, during a meeting in October last year, had asked party ministers in Uttarakhand to ensure victory in at least two seats adjacent to their constituencies. 

At present, the Uttarakhand cabinet has 12 ministers – eight from Congress and four from Progressive Democratic Front. Congress ministers, apart from Chief Minister Harish Rawat, include Indira Hridayesh, Yashpal Arya, Surendra Singh Negi, Pritam Singh, Dinesh Agarwal, Navprabhat and Rajendra Bhandari. 

Finance minister Indira Hridayesh, who currently represents the Haldwani constituency, is working to ensure the party’s victory on all seats in Nainital and Udham Singh Nagar districts. 

“I’m monitoring poll-related activities, keeping an eye on any dissent within the party and trying to ensure that leaders from this region don’t rebel against the party,” Hridayesh was quoted by Hindustan Times as saying. 

Meanwhile, Home Minister Pritam Singh, who got elected to the Chakrata seat three times in a row, is now focusing on nearby seats of Purola, Yamunotri, Vikasnagar and Sahaspur. 

“I’ve been the minister in charge for Uttarkashi. So I’m focusing on nearby seats in the (Uttarkashi) district like Purola and Yamunotri. I’m also concentrating on Vikasnagar and Sahaspur seats, which were earlier a part of the Chakrata constituency,” said Pritam Singh. 

Forest Minister Dinesh Agarwal, who heads the Dharampur constituency, said that the ministers were responsible for the entire state and would extend all support in terms of guidance and resources to party leaders contesting on any seat.