1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. National
  4. Arun Jaitley, Karan Singh, Sharad Yadav

Arun Jaitley, Karan Singh, Sharad Yadav awarded

PTI 12 Aug 2014, 21:46:27 PM IST
New Delhi: President Pranab Mukherjee today conferred the Outstanding Parliamentary award to Congress veteran Karan Singh, JD(U) chief Sharad Yadav and Union Minister Arun Jaitley.

Presented by the Indian Parliamentary Group, the outstanding Parliament award for the year 2010, 2011, 2012 were given to Jaitley, Singh and Yadav respectively at the Balyogi Auditorium in Parliament Library.  

President said the award recognizes illustrious parliamentarians who have contributed significantly to strengthen the country's democratic traditions and enrich the Parliamentary system.

He said that it honours the finest parliamentarians who have upheld the dignity of the House and have set exemplary precedents in Parliamentary conduct.

Mukherjee said that all three are worthy successors of the illustrious lineage of parliamentarians who have received the award in the past.

“They have been steadfast in their commitment to our country and its people. All of them have made substantial contributions to our parliamentary life,” he said.

Complimenting the three award winners for their contribution to Parliament, Prime Minister Narendra Modi hoped that younger MPs would learn from the examples set by them.

Vice President Hamid Ansari, Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan and a host of other MPs were present on the occasion.