1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. National
  4. Bihar polls: 458 candidates left in

Bihar polls: 458 candidates left in fray for second phase of voting

PTI 02 Oct 2015, 7:39:01 IST

Patna: A total of 458 candidates are left for election to 32 Assembly seats in Bihar for the second phase of voting on October 16, the Election Office said yesterday.

"A total of 13 candidates withdrew their nominations on the last date of withdrawal today," Additional Chief Election Officer R Lakshamanan said.

471 candidates had filed nominations for 32 seats that would go to voting in the second phase on October 16, out of which 458 are left, Lakshamanan said.

Makhdumpur and Imamganj, both reserved SC seats, from where Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) chief Jitan Ram Manjhi is contesting, are among 32 constituencies to go to vote in second phase.

After the end of the withdrawal date, a maximum of 22 candidates are left to contest for the Kurtha seat in Arwal district.

This was followed by 21 nominees in Goh in Aurangabad district and 20 each in Aurangabad and Bhabua.

Also Read: Bihar polls: EC issues show-cause notice to Lalu Yadav for making casteist remarks

Imamganj reserved seat in naxal-hit Gaya district has minimum 7 candidates while Ghosi in Jehanabad is left with 8 nominees.

Spread in six districts, a total of 85,86,704 electors would cast vote in the second phase.

Nomination began today for the third phase of elections on 50 constituencies on October 28.

Capital Patna, Saran, Nalanda and Vaishali are among six districts which would see voting in the third phase.

RJD President Lalu Prasad's two sons--Tej Pratap and Tejaswi Yadav--constituencies Mahua and Raghopur respectively falls in third phase.

Lakshamanan said that a total of 17 nominations were filed today on the opening day for the third phase.