1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. National
  4. Bihar polls: PM Modi describes RJD,

Bihar polls: PM Modi describes RJD, JD(U), Congress '3 idiots'

India TV News Desk 27 Oct 2015, 14:23:42 IST
India TV News Desk

Patna: Prime Minister Narendra Modi today launched a scathing attack on Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar for reciting song from '3 Idiots'.

RJD, JD(U)-RJD-Congress alliance are basically the '3 Idiots', Modi said, adding that Nitish and RJD supremo Lalu Prasad Yadav were engaged in 'mushaira'.

"RJD, JD(U) and Congress joined hands to form the Mahagathbandhan. Why did Nitish Kumar find a song from movie 3 Idiots only," Modi said while addressing an election rally in Sitamarhi district.

The Prime Minister further said that polls will decide Bihar's future. He also called upon the electorate to vote after careful thinking.

"You have to decide who to trust for your future. If there is anything that can change your future, it is development. On the one hand there is development, and on the other there is opportunism," the BJP leader said.

Modi said the solution for all problems in Bihar was not Modi but development. He reiterated that India will develop only if Bihar develops.

"It is not about winning or losing, it is about defining Bihar's future," Modi said, underlining the need to provide electricity, water, roads, education, jobs and healthcare in the state.

"I had promised to give a package of Rs 50,000 crore (to Bihar). After taking power, we gave Rs.1.65 lakh crore. We want to provide electricity to each house in Bihar. We have already decided to give Rs.250-300 crore to each district," he added.

He accused his rivals, including Nitish Kumar, of making baseless allegations against the BJP-led alliance.

He attacked Nitish Kumar and RJD chief Lalu Prasad saying Bihar can't be taken back to the 18th century.

"Can mantra or tantra help political parties escape their misdeeds?" Modi asked, in an obvious reference to Nitish Kumar's meeting with a tantrik.

The five-phase Bihar election began on October 12 and will end on November 5. The counting of votes will take place on November 8.