1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. National
  4. BJP chief Amit Shah appoints 4

BJP chief Amit Shah appoints 4 new state presidents

India TV News Desk 16 Aug 2014, 18:48:57 PM IST
India TV News Desk
New Delhi: BJP president Amit Shah has appointed new party presidents in four states namely Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Tamil Nadu and Assam.

Nand Kumar Singh Chauhan, Member of Parliament, will be new state president of Madhya Pradesh. Dharmpal Kaushik will be state president of Chhattisgarh while Tamilisai Soundararajan will be the new state president of Tamil Nadu.

Siddharth Bhattacharya has been appointed the new state president of Assam.

Earlier, the BJP president unveiled his new team of office-bearersĀ  that consists of 11 vice-presidents, 8 general secretaries, 4 joint general secretaries (Organisation), 14 secretaries, 10 spokespersons, 5 presidents of different morchas and 1 office secretary.

Varun Gandhi has been excluded from Amit Shah's new team and the omission isĀ  significant in view of the fact that his mother Maneka Gandhi had recently advocated his projection as UP Chief Minister. Balbir Punj, an Advani loyalist, has also been kept out of the team.

Balbir Punj, Vani Tripathi, Arti Mehra and Rameshwar Chaurasia have also been kept out of Amit Shah's new team.