1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. National
  4. Congress wrests Kerala assembly seat

Congress wrests Kerala assembly seat from CPI-M

PTI 15 Jun 2012, 11:41:47 IST
Thiruvananthapuram, June 15: Congress heading the ruling United Democratic Front in Kerala today wrested the Neyyattinkara Assembly seat from the CPI-M-led LDF in the keenly fought byelection.

UDF candidate R Selvaraj defeated his nearest LDF rival S Lawrence by over 5,000 votes.

The bypoll, held on June 4, was necessitated by resignation of the assembly membership by Selvaraj, who won the seat located near the Kerala capital in 2011 assembly polls on a CPI(M) ticket.

After resigning as MLA and quitting the CPI(M), Selvaraj joined the Congress and was back in the fray as the UDF nominee for the keenly fought by poll.