1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. National
  4. Delhi polls: BJP may repeat candidates

Delhi polls: BJP may repeat candidates who lost by narrow margins

PTI 07 Nov 2014, 23:52:20 PM IST

New Delhi: BJP candidates who lost previous Assembly elections by narrow margins will be the first choice during ticket distribution for the upcoming polls in the national capital.

"As of now, BJP has not taken any decision on ticket distribution for the upcoming Delhi Assembly elections. However, party's candidates, who lost last assembly elections by thin margins, will be given first priority while distributing tickets for forthcoming polls," Delhi BJP chief Satish Upadhyay said.

According to the BJP, party will also take youths and experienced persons on board against the Aam Aadmi Party and Congress.

"Although there are several deserving persons in the party who can be given tickets, we are yet to take decision in this regard," the Delhi BJP chief said.

In 2013 Delhi Assembly elections, several BJP candidates were defeated by AAP candidates with narrow margins.

As per date available on Election Commission's website, Delhi Cannt's AAP MLA Surender Singh defeated BJP candidate Karan Singh Tanwar with a margin of just 355 votes.

Besides, Sadar Bazar's AAP MLA Som Dutt had defeated BJP leader Jai Prakash with a margin of 796 while AAP MLA Dinesh Mohaniya from Sangam Vihar had defeated BJP candidate Shiv Charan Lal Gupta with margin of 777 votes.

Vikas Puri's AAP MLA Mahinder Yadav defeated BJP's candidate Krishan Gahlot with a margin of 405.

In the outgoing Assembly, BJP and its ally Akali Dal have 29 MLAs in a House of 67. Three seats fell vacant after the incumbents were elected to the Lok Sabha.

BJP had emerged as the single largest party in the December Assembly polls winning 31 seats but fell four seats short of a simple majority.

It had refused to form government then, saying it will not resort to any "unfair means" to take over the reins. AAP had formed the government in Delhi with the support of Congress.

The government led by Kejriwal had resigned on 14 February after the party's pet project, the Janlokpal Bill, could not be passed due to opposition from BJP and Congress. President's Rule was imposed on 17 February.