1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. National
  4. Jharkhand polls: Congress adds to candidates'

Jharkhand polls: Congress adds to candidates' list; total at 28

PTI 05 Nov 2014, 23:48:49 PM IST

New Delhi: Congress today announced the names of 16 more candidates for Jharkhand Assembly elections but later held back two, taking to 28 the number of seats in the 81-member House for which it has declared its nominees.

AICC General Secretary BK Hariprasad later said the party has stayed the candidature of Rama Kant Karuwa and Rakesh Kiran Mahto, respectively, from Jugsalai (SC) and Silli.

Manoj Kumar Yadav will fight from Barhi, Shazada Anwar from Ramgarh, Upendra Prasad Singh from Dhanwar, Dukhnimai Sardar from Potka (ST), Basko Besra from Saraikela (ST), Devendranath Champia from Majhgaon (ST), Subhash Nag from Manoharpur (ST) and Vijay Singh Samad from Chakradharpur (ST), the party said in a statement here.

Chotray Kisku is the party's nominee from Kharsawan (ST), Punit Hembrom from Torpa (ST), Pushpa Surin from Khunti (ST), Ravinder Bhagat from Mandar, Benjamin Lakra from Simdega (ST) and Theodore Kiro from Kolebira (ST), Congress said.