1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. National
  4. Laxmikant Parsekar sworn-in as new

Laxmikant Parsekar sworn-in as new Goa Chief Minister

India TV News Desk 08 Nov 2014, 17:28:18 PM IST
India TV News Desk

Panaji: Laxmikant Parsekar was today sworn-in as the new Chief Minister of Goa.

Parsekar was administered the oath of office and secrecy by the Governor Mridula Sinha.

Earlier, Parsekar was elected leader of the BJP Legislature Party, paving the way for his elevation as the new Chief Minister, snuffing out any challenge from Deputy CM Francis D'Souza.

His name was proposed by Parrikar and seconded by the Deputy Chief Minister D'Souza, who had earlier staked claim to the post on ground of seniority.

However, he backed Parsekar after being mollified by the party leadership.

“Parsekar was elected the leader of the BJP Legislature Party unanimously,” said party general secretary Rajiv Pratap Rudy, party's observer for the election.  Parsekar, MLA from Mandrem constituency, would be sworn-in as Chief Minister at 4 PM at Raj Bhavan today.  

Earlier, Parrikar faxed his resignation to Governor Mridula Sinha at Raj Bhavan. The 58-year-old technocrat-turned politician had taken over as Chief Minister in March 2012 after BJP rode to power in the coastal state.