1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. National
  4. Mamata Detractors Included In Reconstituted WBPCC

Mamata Detractors Included In Reconstituted WBPCC

PTI 04 Dec 2010, 22:39:23 IST
New Delhi, Dec 4: Some of the detractors of Mamata Banerjee as also those favouring a greater space for Congress during alliance with Trinamool Congress in poll-bound West Bengal have been accommodated in the reconstituted PCC announced here tonight.

Deepa Dasmunshi, wife of former Union Minister P R Dasmunshi, has been made a General Secretary as well as a member of the new Pradesh Election Committee (PEC).

A number of District Presidents, who were perceived as adopting a tough posture towards UPA ally Trinamool Congress and were changed during civic bodies elections in West Bengal in May, have also been brought back to head the district units.

In the list of District Presidents, at least three such leaders have found place who include Shankar Malakar (Darjeeling Plain), Shankar Singh (Nadia), Mala Roy (South Kolkata).

While Congress President Sonia Gandhi has already retained PCC chief Manas Ranjan Bhunia, who is perceived to be close to Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee, in an apparent balancing act, former ailing PCC chief P R Dasmunshi has also been included in the list of the 12 permanent invitees.

The list announced today includes names of those in the Pradesh Congress Committee, state election committee, district congress committee Presidents and some additional AICC members from West Bengal.

Gyan Singh Sohanpal, Ashit Mazumdar, Md. Shohrab, Sunil Tirkey, Ajoy Dey and Debabrato Bose have been made Vice-Presidents, while Ajit Kumar Aggarwal has been made the treasurer.

There are 12 general secretaries in the list, which include Deepa Dasmunshi, Abdul Mannan, Samar Mukherjee and Rabindranath Chatterjee.

Party MPs Mousam Noor and Abdul Mannan Hussain are among the 26 executive members. Ex-MPs Devi Pal and Dawa Narbula also find their place in the list. The executive members also include the Presidents of party's front organisations in the state Youth Congress Committee, NSUI, Mahila Congress Committee and Congress Seva Dal.

The list of 12 members of Pradesh Election Committee (PEC) includes vocal party MP Adhir Ranjan Chaoudhary, A H Khan Choudhary, Deepa Dasmunshi along with the PCC chief and the CLP leader in the state. Chiefs of front organisations will also be invitee members in the PEC. PTI