1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. National
  4. Parrikar, 9 others set to be

Parrikar, 9 others set to be elected unopposed to RS

PTI 11 Nov 2014, 19:17:49 PM IST

Lucknow:  Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar and SP General Secretary Ram Gopal Yadav are all set to be elected unopposed to Rajya Sabha as only 10 candidates are left in the fray for as many seats after scrutiny today.  

“A total of 11 nominations were filed, but after scrutiny, the nomination of Qamar Ahmad was rejected as his papers were not in format and proposers did not include MLAs,” Returning Officer for Rajya Sabha election and Principal Secretary Vidhan Sabha Pradeep Dubey said.

Other candidates set to be elected unopposed are Tazeen Fatima—wife of cabinet minister Azam Khan, Neeraj Shekhar, son of former prime minister Chandrashekhar, Ravi Prakash Verma, Javed Ali Khan and Chandrapal Singh Yadav (all SP), PL Punia (Congress), Raja Ram and Veer Singh (both BSP).  The result would be declared on November 13.

Rajya Sabha members whose term is expiring are Akhilesh Das, Avtar Singh Karimpuri, Brijlal Khabari, Brijesh Pathak, Raja Ram, Veer Singh (all BSP), Amar Singh and Ram Gopal Yadav (both SP), Kusum Rai (BJP) and Mohammad Adeeb (Congress).