1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. National
  4. Satyavrat Chaturvedi In Cong Media Panel

Satyavrat Chaturvedi In Cong Media Panel

PTI 04 Dec 2010, 22:42:10 IST
New Delhi, Dec 4: Congress MP Satyavrat Chaturvedi, who was debarred from holding media briefings after his controversial remarks against NCP chief Sharad Pawar, has been included in the list of a panel formed by the party to present its case effectively in the electronic media.

Besides Chaturvedi, Rajya Sabha MP Rajiv Shukla has also been included in the list.

Chaturvdei, a Rajya Sabha MP, earlier debarred from holding media briefings after he made some controversial remarks against Pawar in March this year.

The Congress had yesterday formed a panel of 15 senior leaders, who were authorised to participate in debates and discussion in the media in the wake of the 2G Spectrum scam.

With the inclusion of the two names today, the panel has now seventeen members.

The list included five Union ministers -- Ghulam Nabi Azad, Ambika Soni, Pawan Kumar Bansal, C P Joshi and Jairam Ramesh, party spokesperson Abhishek Manu Singhvi, Manish Tewari, Jayanti Natarajan, Mohan Prakash and Shakeel Ahmed.

Other senior leaders who are in the panel are Girija Vyas, Renuka Chowdhury, P C Chacko, Raj Babbar and Sanjay Nirupam, said party general secretary and chairman of the AICC media department Janardan Dwivedi.

Soni, Azad and Vyas had been former chairpersons of AICC media department.

The AICC had earlier announced such a panel with 21 members in 2008 when the nuclear deal controversy was raging. A number of Union Ministers and senior party leaders included in the former panel do not find their names in this panel. PTI