1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. National
  4. Two BSP candidates file nomination for

Two BSP candidates file nomination for Rajya Sabha polls

PTI 10 Nov 2014, 8:52:51 AM IST

Lucknow: Two BSP candidates yesterday filed their nomination papers for the biennial Rajya Sabha elections in Uttar Pradesh.

Rajaram and Veer Singh filed two sets of nomination papers each, said Returning Officer and Principal Secretary of the Vidhan Sabha Pradeep Kumar Dubey.

They were accompanied by senior leaders of the party including Leader of Opposition in the Legislative Assembly Swami Prasad Maurya, Leader of Opposition in Legislative Council Naseemuddin Siddiqui, Rajya Sabha MP S C Misra, former ministers Ramvir Upadhaya and Lalji Verma.

 With this, a total of nine candidates-- six of Samajwadi Party, one of Congress and two of BSP--have filed their nominations for the 10 Rajya Sabha seats for which elections, if required, will be held on November 20.

The BJP candidate is likely to file his nomination papers on Monday, the last date for filing of the papers.

The Rajya Sabha members whose terms are due to expire are Akhilesh Das, Avtar Singh Karimpuri, Brijlal Khabari, Brijesh Pathak, Raja Ram and Veer Singh (all BSP), Amar Singh and Ram Gopal Yadav (SP), Kusum Rai (BJP) and Mohammad Adeeb (Congress).

According to the party-wise strength in the UP Assembly, ruling SP can win six seats, BSP two, BJP one and Congress one with support of other parties.