1. Home
  2. Sports
  3. Cricket
  4. Ind vs Aus, 4th Test: KL

Ind vs Aus, 4th Test: KL Rahul’s 50 guides India to 2-1 series win over Australia

India TV Sports Desk Dharamsala 28 Mar 2017, 13:47:55 IST
India TV Sports Desk

India today beat Australia by 8 wickets to win the fourth and last Test of the four-match Border–Gavaskar Trophy 2-1.

The fourth Test match, played at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium in Dharamsala, was a low scoring affair with India bowling out Australia for 137 in their second innings to set a 106-run target. Glenn Maxwell (45 runs) was the highest scorer for the visitors on day 3. 

Earlier, India ended their first innings at 332 -- taking a 32-run lead -- in reply to the visitors' first innings outing score of 300.

Resuming play this morning from 19/0, openers KL Rahul and Murali Vijay took the total to 46. Fast bowler Pat Cummins got the only wicket of the day when he claimed Vijay's wicket while India’s run-machine for this season Cheteshwar Pujara, who had made 57 runs in the first innings, got run-out without getting off the mark -- thanks to an excellent piece of fielding by Glenn Maxwell.

For the hosts, Rahul made 51 off 76 while skipper Ajinkya Rahane contributed 38 crucial runs to India’s victory. This was Rahul’s second fifty in the match after his first innings score of 63 runs.

Fittingly, it was Rahul who hit the winning runs, guiding a Steve O'Keefe delivery to the on-side.

In the first match, played last month, Australia completely outclassed India on the field at Pune and clinched their first win on Indian soil in over a decade.

The second match in Bengaluru was won by India whereas the third game in Ranchi ended without any result. 


Australia 1st innings: 300 all out
India 1st innings: 332    al out
Australia 2nd innings: 137 all out

India 2nd innings: (Target: 106 runs, overnight 19/0)

Lokesh Rahul    not out 51
Murali Vijay c Wade b Cummins 8
Cheteshwar Pujara run out (Maxwell) 0
Ajinkya Rahane not out 38
Extras (b 4, lb 5) 9    
Total (2 wickets; 23.5 overs) 106

Fall of wickets: 1-46 (Vijay, 13.1 overs), 2-46 (Pujara, 13.6)


Pat Cummins 8-2-42-1
Josh Hazlewood 6-2-14-0
Steve O'Keefe 4.5-1-22-0
Nathan Lyon 5-0-19-0

Match details:

Series: India won the 4-match series 2-1

Player of the match: Ravindra Jadeja (India)

Player of the series: Ravindra Jadeja (India)

Umpires Marais Erasmus (South Africa) and Ian Gould (England) | TV umpire: Chris Gaffaney (New Zealand) | Match referee: Richie Richardson (West Indies) | Reserve umpire: Virender Sharma