1. Home
  2. Sports
  3. Cricket
  4. IPL 10: In another snub by

IPL 10: In another snub by BCCI, Harsha Bhogle’s name missing from list of commentators

India TV Sports Desk New Delhi 05 Apr 2017, 13:37:48 IST
India TV Sports Desk

Famous cricket commentator Harsha Bhogle has once again been excluded from the list of commentators for the tenth edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) beginning today in Hyderabad. 

The list of 20 commentators released by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), which is dominated by Australians, does not include Harsha’s name. 

Harsha has been away from the commentary box for nearly a year now, following his deadlock with the erstwhile BCCI administration. 

Also Read: Think Harsha Bhogle is replaceable? 10 witty quotes by the commentator to change your mind

The 55-year-old commentator had criticised Team India’s performance last year, after which Amitabh Bachchan, without taking names, had taken a shot at him on his Twitter handle. 

“With all due respects, it would be really worthy of an Indian commentator to speak more about our players than others all the time,” he had tweeted. 

Bhogle’s comments were also not well received by former Indian skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni and other team officials. 

Eventually, the BCCI terminated the contract with him for the ninth edition of the IPL. 

Speculations were rife that some Indian cricketers had complained against Bhogle to the BCCI for his comments on air but the exact reason for his last minute sacking from the IPL commentators' panel remains unknown till date.

Meanwhile, the list of 20 commentators for the IPL tenth season include regular names like Ravi Shastri, Sunil Gavaskar, Sanjay Manjrekar, Isa Guha, besides few newcomers such as Micheal Clarke and Darren Ganga. 

The list of commentators for this edition of the IPL is: Sanjay Manjrekar, Scott Styris, Ravi Shastri, Pommie Mbangwa, Sunil Gavaskar, Simon Doull, L Siva, Anjum Chopra, D Morrison, Isa Guha, Michael Hussey, Lisa Sthalekar, Matthew Hayden, Melanie Jones, Micheal Clarke, Murali Kartik, Brett Lee, Kevin Pietersen, Brendon Julien and Daren Ganga.