1. Home
  2. Sports
  3. Cricket
  4. IPL 2016: KKR win toss, invite

IPL 2016: KKR win toss, invite Delhi Daredevils to bat first

India TV Sports Desk 10 Apr 2016, 20:05:12 IST
India TV Sports Desk

Kolkata: Kolkata Knight Riders have won the toss and invited Delhi Daredevils to bat first in the second match of the Indian Premier League 2016 here at Eden Gardens in Kolkata. 

The 2012 and 2014 IPL winners KKR will be looking forward to start the ninth season of the league with a win against the unstable Delhi Daredevils. 

After winning the toss, Kolkata Knight Riders skipper Gautam Gambhir said, “We are going to bowl. The wicket is not going to change much. Hopefully, we can restirct them and chase it down. Absolutely, Jacques has been involved with the set up for sometime, hopefully we will give him a winning start as a coach. Looks a good wicket, the ball will come on nicely."  

Delhi Daredevil's newly appointed captain Zaheer Khan said that he is pleased to be back in the game after a long time and they are looking forward to bat here.  

"It has been good. Excited to be back. Good balance in the team. Good that we will be batting first, he will have enough time to settle down in the new dressing room (Talking about Carlos Brathwaite). Obviously he is familiar with the conditions. We were looking forward to bat here,'' he said. 

Here are the team squads: 

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR): G Gambhir (C), RV Uthappa, MK Pandey, C Munro, SA Yadav, YK Pathan, AD Russell, PP Chawla, JW Hastings, GB Hogg, UT Yadav 

Delhi Daredevils (DD): Q de Kock, MA Agarwal, SS Iyer, KK Nair, SV Samson, P Negi, CR Brathwaite, CH Morris, Z Khan (C), A Mishra, NM Coulter-Nile