1. Home
  2. Sports
  3. Cricket
  4. IPL 2016: Murali Vijay replaces Miller

IPL 2016: Murali Vijay replaces Miller as captain of Kings XI Punjab

India TV Sports Desk 30 Apr 2016, 16:56:38 PM IST
India TV Sports Desk

Mohali: After losing five out of the six matches played so far, Kings XI Punjab has replaced David Miller with Murali Vijay as the skipper of the side for the remaining matches of the ongoing Indian Premier League 2016. 

“Kings XI Punjab announces M Vijay as the Captain for Kings XI Punjab for the remaining part of the IPL 2016 tournament," the franchise said in a statement.

Apart from his failure as the captain, Miller has struggled to contribute as a batsman as well. The South African left-hander has scored a meagre 75 runs from six outings.

"David Miller continues to be an integral part of the team and is a very strong player of the squad," the statement added.

Punjab travel to Rajkot to play Gujarat Lions on Sunday.

Punjab also announced that they will be playing their last three home matches in Mohali on May 7, 9 and 15 respectively. 

Nagpur was supposed to host the three matches. But the Bombay High Court ordered the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to shift all the matches after May 1 out of Maharashtra due to the prevailing drought in the western state.

"We look forward to the support of our fans in the catchment area as we move ahead in the tournament this year," Punjab said in a statement.   

It is important to mention here that Kings XI Punjab are yet to win their maiden IPL title and are currently at the bottom of the standings. They had finished at the bottom in the 2015 edition as well.

(With IANS Inputs)