1. Home
  2. Sports
  3. Cricket
  4. 8th Annual BCCI Award ceremony to

8th Annual BCCI Award ceremony to be held today

India TV Sports Desk 21 Nov 2014, 15:43:16 PM IST
India TV Sports Desk

New Delhi: The 8th Annual BCCI Award ceremony will be held today. The BCCI hold this award ceremony every year to recognize and reward the top performers of the game in the 2013-14 cricketing season.

Appraised for his tremendous performance, Buvaneshwar Kumar has been choosen for the annual Polly Umrigar Award for best International Crickter 2013-14. The award comprises a trophy and a cheque for Rs. 5 lakhs.

Dilip Vengsarkar, one of India's best batsman has been conferred with COl. C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award. He was nominated for the award by a committee comprising of Mr. Shekhar Gupta, Senior Media personality, Mr. Shivlal Yadav, Interim President, BCCI and Mr. Sanjay Patel, Hony. Secretary, BCCI.

A true veteran Indian crickter Vengasarkar, has served the nation and has been associated with cricket even after retirement. He was Chairman of the BCCI's Talent Research Development Committee for three years, and the Chairman of the All-India Senior Selection Committee for the period, 2006-08.

He was a member of the team which won the 1983 World Cup.

The BCCI celebrates the birth centenary of Col. C.K. Nayudu, the country's first Test captain, by instituting an Annual Lifetime Achievement Award, to honour individuals for their unparalleled contribution to Indian cricket, on and off the field.

Many player along with Bhuvaneshwar Kumar will be rewarded by the BCCI for their excellent performance in the season 2013-14.

Jammu and Kashmir's captain, Parvez Rasool, wiil been conferred with the Lala Amarnath award for being the best all-rounder during the 2013-14 Ranji trophy. He scored 663 runs and picked up 27 wickets from 9 matches. The award includes a trophy and a cheque for Rs. 2.5 lakhs.

Maharashtra's middle-order batsman, Kedar Jadhav, who emerged as the top-scorer during the 2013-14 season of the Ranji Trophy will receive the Madhav Rao Scindia award for the best batsman in the 2013-14 Ranji season. Jadhav, who made his ODI debut during the fifth ODI against Sri Lanka, scored 1223 runs in 11 matches at a superb average of 87.35. It included 6 hundreds and 2 fifties. Jadhav will receive a trophy as well as a cash award of Rs 2.5 lakhs.

Himachal Pradesh's pacer, Rishi Dhawan, received the corresponding Madhav Rao Scindia award for being the best bowler during the 2013-14 Ranji season.

Karnataka's captain, R Vinay Kumar, who led the team to a grand treble during the 2013-14 season, has been rewarded with the Lala Amarnath award for being the best all-rounder, during the 2013-14 ODI domestic season.