1. Home
  2. Sports
  3. Cricket
  4. Aus vs SA: Australia wins toss,

Aus vs SA: Australia wins toss, bats in 3rd ODI vs S Africa

India TV News Desk 19 Nov 2014, 9:00:32 AM IST
India TV News Desk

Canberra, Australia: Australia captain George Bailey won the toss and elected to bat first Wednesday in the third limited-overs cricket international against South Africa at Manuka Oval.

Australia made three changes to the team which lost the second match in Perth on Sunday, bringing in pacemen Mitchell Starc and Kane Richardson, and left-arm spinner Xavier Doherty.

Fast bowler Mitchell Johnson was one of the three Australian players replaced, having been given the rest of the series off to prepare for upcoming tests against India.

South Africa named an unchanged team.

The series is level 1-1, with the fourth match scheduled for Friday in Melbourne and the fifth Sunday in Sydney.


Australia: George Bailey (captain), David Warner, Aaron Finch, Shane Watson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade, Mitchell Starc, Kane Richardson, Xavier Doherty, Josh Hazlewood.

South Africa: A.B. de Villiers (captain), Quinton de Kock, Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis, Rilee Rossouw, David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir.

Umpires: Simon Fry, Australia, and Nigel Llong, England.

TV umpire: Billy Bowden, New Zealand. Match referee: Javagal Srinath, India.

Series: Best-of-five series level 1-1.