1. Home
  2. Sports
  3. Cricket
  4. Sydney T20I: India clean sweeps series,

Sydney T20I: India clean sweeps series, beats Australia by 7 wickets

India TV News Desk 31 Jan 2016, 23:43:54 IST
India TV News Desk

Sydney: India emerged victorious in the third and the last T20I against Australia by 7 wickets.

Chasing down a massive total of 198 runs, India clinched the win at the very last ball.

With this win India has managed a clean sweep of 3-0 against Australia.

Indian innings was fueled by brilliant half-centuries from Rohit Sharma (52) and Virat Kohli (50). Suresh Raina's unbeaten 49 and Yuvraj Singh's 15 off 12 balls also proved crucial in this victory.

Cameron Boyce (2/28) and Shane Watson (1/30) were the most successful bowlers for Australia.

Shane Watson was declared 'Man of the Match' while 'Man of the Series' title went to Virat Kohli.

Australian ininngs report:

Earlier, opener Shane Watson scored a superb unbeaten century (127) to guide Australia to a strong total of 197/5 in the third and final T20 International against India here on Sunday.

Watson hit the Indian bowlers to all corners of the Sydney Cricket Ground in his 71-ball knock, with 10 boundaries and six sixes.

Middle-order batsman Travis Head was the next most successful scorer with 26 runs off 19 balls.

Left-arm pacer Ashish Nehra (1/32) was the most impressive bowler for India.


Australia: Shaun Marsh, Usman Khawaja, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Shane Watson(c), Cameron Bancroft(w), Travis Head, Cameron Boyce, Andrew Tye, Scott Boland, Shaun Tait

India: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni(w/c), Yuvraj Singh, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra

Watch video: