Dravid Concedes He Might Have Nicked The BallLondon, August22: Rahul Dravid on Sunday conceded that he might have been legitimately given out in India's second innings though it was not clear from the Hot Spot footages whether the third umpire's decision was
London, August22: Rahul Dravid on Sunday conceded that he might have been legitimately given out in India's second innings though it was not clear from the Hot Spot footages whether the third umpire's decision was right or not on the fourth day of the final Test against England.
He was ruled not out by the field umpire but given out for 13 after referral by England though the Hot Spot apparently showed that there was no contact of the ball with bat before it was taken by Alastair Cook at forward short leg.
Dravid, however, said after fourth day's play that he had a feeling that there was a faint edge from his bat.
"I think there was a feather of a ball on the bat," he said when asked if he had nicked the Graeme Swann delivery.
In the third Test at Edgbaston, Dravid was ruled caught behind off James Anderson in India's second innings of the third Test when actually his bat had hit the shoelace and he hadn't edged the ball.
He later said that he did not ask for a review of the decision as he was confused how a sound had come though he was sure he did not edge the ball.
Asked about his going past Sunil Gavaskar in the number of Test hundreds, Dravid, who notched up his 35th Test ton, said, "It is an honour to even be compared of Gavaskar. I have grown up idolising him and Vishwanath when I was young.
"Gavaskar's name would be discussed when you name a World XI. He scored those hundreds without wearing helmets against the West Indian fast bowlers. He is a legend of the game. It's satisfying to score my 35th hundred," he said.
Dravid became the fourth highest century maker in history and second among Indians. PTI