1. Home
  2. Sports
  3. Cricket
  4. Just 12 Slots To Fill At

Just 12 Slots To Fill At Third IPL Auction

PTI 18 Jan 2010, 14:28:22 IST

An interesting mix of players, including Indian Cricket League returnees, would go under the hammer at the third Indian Premier League auction during which the franchises would choose from a list of 66 to fill just 12 available slots in Mumbai on Tuesday. 

"Well there are a lot of buy-outs which are still in progress. I expect no more than 12 slots at the maximum to be available unless there are a few last moment surprises," said IPL's Chief Operating Officer Sundar Raman ahead of the auction that is to be held at a suburban hotel here. 

A buy-out means paying a contracted player his dues before the expiry of the contract in order to free him of his obligations towards the team. 

Each franchisee has USD 750,000 at its disposal for buying new players at the auction featuring cricketers from all nine Test-playing countries. 

The players bought would be contracted for only one season, specifically till December 31 of 2010, and that includes the Champions League Twenty20. 

"In the first year we devised a three-year contract. We had said that at the end of three years, with the addition of franchises, the entire process would change. The changes will be effected after this season of IPL," the IPL official has saiod. 

Raman reckons exciting West Indian talents -- hard-hitting batsman Kieron Pollard and fast bowler Kemar Roach -- would be among the most sought after.  

"Some of the Pakistani players are interesting and of course, the Australian players add to the excitement. I would like to see a lot of them playing the IPL this season," Raman said. 

The list of players to be auctioned includes 11 each from Pakistan, Australia and South Africa, nine from Sri Lanka, eight each from England and West Indies, four from New Zealand and one each from Bangladesh, Canada, Zimbabwe and Holland. 

Returnees from the rebel Indian Cricket League, including New Zealand pacer Shane Bond and Australian Damien Martyn, have also made the cut in the final list. 

There are few notable omissions like current Pakistan captain Mohammed Yousuf and dope-tainted pacer Mohammed Asif, wo played for the Delhi Daredevils in the inaugural edition. 

The list includes Pakistan's current Twenty20 captain Shahid Afridi, who had played for Deccan Chargers in the first season, and Sohail Tanvir, who was contracted with Rajasthan Royals in the inaugural edition. 

Exciting new finds like pacer Mohammad Aamer and batsman Umar Akmal are also in the list. Pakistani players did not participate in the IPL's second season in the aftermath of Mumbai terror attacks. 

The prominent Australians who have made the final list include Brad Haddin, Phillip Hughes and Doug Bollinger. PTI