1. Home
  2. Sports
  3. Cricket
  4. Pakistan win toss, elect to field

Pakistan win toss, elect to field in the 1st ODI

India TV News Desk 23 Aug 2014, 12:19:58 PM IST
India TV News Desk
Hambantota, Sri Lanka: Pakistan captain Misbah-ul-Haq won the toss and elected to bowl under overcast conditions in Saturday's opening game of the three-match one-day series against Sri Lanka.

Pakistan's 2.16-metre (7-foot-1) fast bowler Mohammad Irfan will be making a comeback after recovering from hip injury which had sidelined him since last November.
Middle-order batsman Younis Khan, who scored 177 in the first test against Sri Lanka, is also returning to limited-overs cricket after being ignored by the selectors for nearly 17 months.
Pakistan will be without ace off-spinner Saeed Ajmal, who is travelling to Australia for tests on his suspect bowling action.
Enigmatic all-rounder Shahid Afridi became the most capped ODI player for Pakistan, surpassing former captain Inzamam-ul-Haq's record 378 one-day internationals.
Sri Lanka, which beat Pakistan 2-0 in the test series, fielded one-day specialists Tillakaratne Dilshan, Dinesh Chandimal, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara and Lasith Malinga.

Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Ashan Priyanjan, Dinesh Chandimal, Thisara Perera, Nuwan Kulasekara, Rangana Herath, Lasith Malinga.
Pakistan: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Younis Khan, Umar Akmal, Fawad Alam, Sohaib Maqsood, Shahid Afridi, Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Irfan.