1. Home
  2. Sports
  3. Cricket
  4. Fit-again Gul, in-form Younis back in

Fit-again Gul, in-form Younis back in Pak limited overs squads

PTI 30 Nov 2014, 19:41:06 PM IST

Karachi: Pakistan national selection committee has recalled experienced speedster Umar Gul for the two T20 matches and first two ODIs against New Zealand, here Sunday.

The PCB announced a 14-member T20 squad to be captained by Shahid Afridi and a 16-member ODI squad led by Misbah-ul-Haq.

Gul, who has been in and out of the team having undergone knee surgery in May, has been recalled for both formats. The selectors have also called up senior batsman Younis Khan for the first two ODIs after his sparkling performances in the Tests against Australia and New Zealand.

The comeback of Younis is seen as a step down by the selectors led by Moin Khan, who had earlier while dropping Younis for the one-day series against Australia claimed he was not part of their World Cup plans.

Younis had lashed out the selectors and responded by scoring three back-to-back centuries against Australia and one against New Zealand.

Significantly, while releasing the squads the PCB has enlisted Younis Khan's name as the 15th player in the squad.

Dashing middle-order batsman, Umar Akmal has also been displaced as the wicketkeeper in both formats by the inform Sarfaraz Ahmed although Umar had also been performing keeping duties since last year.

He is lucky to be in the side as he has struggled for form in the domestic matches since being dropped for the Tests.

Also fortunate to win a recall is left handed opener, Nasir Jamshed for the ODI matches. Left-arm pacer Wahab Riaz has also recovered from his knee problem which he suffered during the ODIs against Australia, and has been picked in both formats.

Pakistan squads (Twenty20): Shahid Afridi (captain), Ahmed Shehzad, Anwar Ali, Mohammad Hafeez, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Irfan, Owais Zia, Raza Hasan, Saad Nasim, Sarfraz Ahmed, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Akmal, Umar Gul, Wahab Riaz

One-day: Misbah-ul Haq (captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Ahmed Shehzad, Asad Shafiq, Bilawal Bhatti, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Irfan, Nasir Jamshed, Sarfraz Ahmed, Shahid Afridi, Sohail Tanvir, Umar Akmal, Umar Gul, Wahab Riaz, Younis Khan, Zulfiqar Babar.