1. Home
  2. Sports
  3. Cricket
  4. Vijay Hazare trophy: Himachal trounce Jammu

Vijay Hazare trophy: Himachal trounce Jammu and Kashmir by 9 wickets

PTI 12 Nov 2014, 20:15:57 PM IST

Nadaun: Medium-pacer Rishi Dhawan bagged a fifer to help Himachal Pradesh trounce Jammu and Kashmir, who saw five ducks in their innings, by nine wickets in the Vijay Hazare one-day tournament, here Wednesday.

Put into bat at the Atal Bihari Vajpayee Stadium, Jammu and Kashmir lost both their openers for naught and the next five batsmen added just 10 runs as the Parvez Rasool-led side were bundled for a paltry 132 in 37 overs.

Adil Rishi, Veemarsh Kaw, Bandeep Singh, Waseem Raza and Obaid Haroon failed to trouble the scorers as the side was reduced to 25 for seven at one stage.

Number eight batsman Paras Sharma (60), No.9 Ram Dayal (24) and No.10 Samiullah Beigh (19) gave some face to the innings as Dhawan and pace spearhead Vikramjeet Malik, picking up three wickets, tore into the J&K batting.

Raghav Dhawan and Pankaj Jaiswal also picked up a wicket each.

In reply, Himachal made short work of their chase and galloped to their target in the 29th over.

Paras Chopra (9) lost is wicket early, trapped lbw off Beigh, but Raghav (77) and Ankit Kalsi (40) carried their bat through as Himachal continued their winning run after getting past Delhi in their previous encounter.

Brief Scores:

Jammu and Kashmir 132 all out in 37 overs (Paras Sharma 60, Ram Dayal 24; Rishi Dhawan 5-29, Vikramjeet Malik 3-29)

Himachal Pradesh 133-1 in 28.3 overs (Raghav Dhawan 77 not out, Ankit Kalsi 40 not out; Samiullah Beigh 1-25).