1. Home
  2. Sports
  3. Cricket
  4. Vijay Hazare trophy: Odisha edge past

Vijay Hazare trophy: Odisha edge past Goa by 1 run to enter semis

PTI 20 Nov 2014, 19:37:55 PM IST

Rajkot: In a thrilling battle Odisha prevailed a tense finish to edge past Goa by one run and book their semi-final spot in the Vijay Hazare one-day tournament, here Thursday.

Put into bat at the Madhavrao Scindia Cricket Ground, Odisha rode on contrasting centuries from Anurag Sarangi (112) and skipper Biplab Samantaray (100) to post a commanding 289 all out in 49.4 overs.

Goa pace spearhead Saurabh Bandekar turned on the heat with a five-wicket haul but Sarangi and Samantaray stitched together a 188-run fourth-wicket partnership to put Odisha on top.

The duo were like fire and ice and if Sarangi scored at run-a-ball, hitting 12 hours and a six, then Samantaray blazed to his century in 73 balls, laced with 11 fours and 2 sixes.

Chasing 290 for a win, opener Amogh Desai scored a strokeful ton and was single-handedly taking Goa towards victory before the Swapnil Asnodkar-led side created harakiri to finish on 288 for nine in 50 overs.

The 192-run second-wicket partnership between Desai and Sagun Kamat (92 not out), who retired hurt, when the score read 195 for one, helped Goa look strong on 218 for two, before falling apart.

Medium-pacer Samantaray and left-arm spinners' Paresh Patel and Dhiraj Singh picked up 2 wickets each to reduce Goa to 270 for eight before Shadab Jakati nearly shocked Odisha with a delightful cameo.

Jakati, who had also picked up a wicket with his left-arm spin, though was left disappointed on 26 after his 16-ball knock nearly gave Goa the win.

But No.11 batsman Sagar Naik was run out and an injured Kamat came on to fight but the left-handed Jakati could only sneak in a single on the last ball.

Brief Scores:

Odisha 289 all out 49.4 overs (Anurag Sarangi 112, Biplab Samantaray 100; Saurabh Bandekar 5-37, Darshan Misal 2-56)

Goa 288/9 in 50 overs (Amogh Desai 110, Sagun Kamat 92 not out, Shadab Jakati 26 not out; Biplab Samantaray 2-50, Paresh Patel 2-70 and Dhiraj Singh 2-35).