1. Home
  2. Sports
  3. Cricket
  4. Vijay Hazare trophy: Rawat leads Railways

Vijay Hazare trophy: Rawat leads Railways to easy win over Vidarbha

PTI 08 Nov 2014, 19:53:07 PM IST

Nagpur: Mahesh Rawat missed out on his hundred by just four runs but he led Railways to a comfortable four-wicket win over Vidrabha in their Central Zone match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy at VCA stadium, here today.

Chasing a modest 207 to win, Railways achieved the target with 11 balls to spare as Rawat scored an unbeaten 96 off 122 balls. Vidarbha were all out for 206 in 49.2 overs.

Rawat shared a 89-run stand with Ashish Yadav (47 off 60 balls) after Railways had lost three wickets for just 28 runs in the 13th over.

He also raised an unbeaten 45-run stand with Arnab Nandi (23) after losing R Jonathan (0) and Karn Sharma (24) from the other end.

Vidarbha paceman Swapnil Bandiwar, who removed both the Railways opener, gave a good account of himself by taking three wickets and conceding just 30 runs in his nine overs.

Wicket-keeper Jitesh Sharma top-scored for the hosts with his 54 off 60 balls while Shrikant Wagh played a crucial knock of 44 down the order, helping his side cross the 200-run mark.

Anureet Singh (2/47), Karn Sharma (2/57) and Ashish Yadav (2/32) shared six wickets among them for the Railways.

Brief Scores:

Vidarbha: 206 all out in 49.2 overs. (Jitesh Sharma 54, Shrikant Wagh 44; Ashish Yadav 2/32).

Railways: 210 for 6 in 49.1 overs.(Mahesh Rawat 96 not out, Ashish Yadav 47; Swapnil Bandiwar 3/30).