1. Home
  2. Sports
  3. Other
  4. Saurav Ghoshal awarded 'Best Sportsperson of

Saurav Ghoshal awarded 'Best Sportsperson of the Year'

PTI 23 Apr 2015, 23:25:20 PM IST

Kolkata: Ace squash player Saurav Ghosal received the Best Sportsperson of the Country Award at the Calcutta Sports Journalists' Club Annual Awards Function at the Rotary Sadan, here on Thursday.

Sports personalities of past and present were awarded in a befitting manner during the function.

Olympic gold medalist hockey player Gurbux Singh and basketball player Aparna Ghosh were honoured with Lifetime Achievement Awards.

Cue sport talent Doel Dey, a multiple winner at national championships, was adjudged Best Junior Sportsperson of the Country.

Brazilian footballer Jose Ramirez Barreto was feted for his contribution to Indian football among a host of sportspersons from other discipline, who received the 'State Awards' for their accomplishments in respective fields.

The awardees

Lifetime Achievement: Gurbux Singh (Hockey) & Aparna Ghosh (Basketball).

Outstanding contribution to Indian football: Jose Barreto

Best Sportsperson of the Country: Saurav Ghosal(Squash)

Best Junior Sportsperson of the Country: Doyel Dey (Cue sport)

State awards (Best Player): Archery: Atanu Das

Athletics (male): Chandan Bauri

Athletics (female): Swapna Burman

Basketball: Prasoon Roy

Badminton: Dishant Debnath

Chess: Rajdeep Sarkar

Cricket: Wriddhiman Saha

Football: Pritam Kotal

Football (best upcoming talent): Abhishek Das

Swimming: Supriyo Mondal

Table Tennis: Mouma Das

Volleyball: Preeti Singh