1. Home
  2. Sports
  3. Soccer
  4. Brazil and Colombia to meet in

Brazil and Colombia to meet in Copa America

India TV News Desk 25 Nov 2014, 8:18:46 AM IST
India TV News Desk

Vina Del Mar, Chile: Brazil will face Colombia and Argentina will play defending champion Uruguay after the group-stage matchups were drawn for the 2015 Copa America on Monday.

Brazil was drawn against Colombia, Peru and Venezuela in Group C of the South American competition, while Argentina was placed with Uruguay, Paraguay and Jamaica in Group B.

Host Chile is in Group A with Mexico, Ecuador and Bolivia.

Chile, Brazil and Argentina are the seeded teams for the June 11-July 4 tournament.

The Chileans will be trying to win the Copa America for the first time.

"Hopefully this time we will be able to play up to the expectations," Chile coach Jorge Sampaoli said.

The top two teams in each of the three groups will advance to the competition's quarterfinals, along with the best-two third-place finishers.

Brazil and Colombia will play in a rematch of the World Cup quarterfinals, when the hosts won 2-1 in a match marked by Neymar's back injury that ruled him out of the competition.

While Brazil is trying to rebuild under new coach Dunga, Colombia has been thriving under Jose Pekerman and Real Madrid star James Rodriguez.

"We are getting used to playing against Brazil," Pekerman said. "Hopefully we will be able to win this time."

Lionel Messi's Argentina will have to face Uruguay, the same team it lost to in the quarterfinals of the home tournament in 2011.

Uruguay is the competition's most successful nation with 15 titles, but it won't be able to count on Barcelona star striker Luis Suarez, who will still be serving FIFA's suspension for biting an opponent during the World Cup.

The 12-nation tournament will be played in eight host cities — Antofagasta, Concepcion, La Serena, Rancagua, Santiago, Temuco, Valparaiso and Vina del Mar.

Mexico and Jamaica received invitations to play in the competition.