1. Home
  2. Technology
  3. WhatsApp introduces the badly wanted 'DELETE'

WhatsApp introduces the badly wanted 'DELETE' feature; know how to use it

This feature may not work if the recipient has already seen the message or if the process failed.
Written by: India TV Tech Desk New Delhi November 04, 2017 17:17 IST
India TV Tech Desk

WhatsApp has rolled out a new feature which is a blessing in disguise for everyone. 'The Delete for Everyone' is now available to all Android, iPhone and Windows Phone users. This new feature will save you from embarrassment of all those awkward texts. We all have drunk texted our ex or sent a wrong message to a group at some point or the other. The delete feature comes as a big relief for all users.It is the biggest change introduced by WhatsApp since the blue ticks aka send receipts. The service which is owned by Facebook will replace the deleted message with ''This message was deleted" text. So, now no more regretting about the messages sent by mistake.

Know how it works

Update your phone with the latest version of WhatsApp. The receipient should also have the latest version in phone.

Select the message you want to delete

Tap the trash icon after which a dialogue box will open with the new option Delete For Everyone.

As soon as you tick the Delete for Everyone, the sent message will be replaced with ''You deleted this message''.

This feature may not work if the recipient has already seen the message or if the process failed. However, there is one condition. Company says that users can delete message only within six-seven minutes of sending the message. Also, the previous Delete option has been renamed as Delete for Me. This helps users to clear messages from the device. The company has been testing 'Delete for Everyone' for quite some time now.