1. Home
  2. Entertainment
  3. Bollywood
  4. Kerala State Film Awards to be

Kerala State Film Awards to be declared today

India TV Entertainment Desk New Delhi 07 Mar 2017, 14:37:05
Kerala State Film Awards - India TV

The Kerala State Film Awards that honoured great artists and movies of the state will be announced today. Media reported that earlier 68 films were being considered for the award, but the jury led by Odisha director AK Bir shortlisted only 12 films.

If reports are to be believed then the names of the film include Vidhu Vincent's ‘Manhole’, Adoor Gopalakrishnan's ‘Pinneyum’, ‘Kaadu Pookunna Neram’ by Dr Biju, Dileesh Pothan's ‘Maheshinte Prathikaram’, Rajeev Ravi's ‘Kammatipaadam’.

Reports further added that ‘Ayal Sasi’ by Sajin Babu, Vysakh's ‘Pulimurugan’, Priyadarshan's ‘Oppam’ ‘Guppy’ by Johnpaul George, Midhun Manuel Thomas’s ‘Ann Maria Kalippilaanu’, Shanavas K Bavakkutty's ‘Kismath’, Jude Anthony Joseph's ‘Oru Muthassi Gadha’ are also in the list of 12 films that are being considered for the award.

The competition is very tough as many movies had managed to entertain audience last year. ‘Pulimurugan’ that featured Mohanlal in the lead role became the first Malayalam film to cross Rs 150 crore mark. Dulquer Salmaan’s ‘Kammatipaadam’ also received positive response from the audience.

Well, the result will be declared today at 5 PM. Audience will have to wait till then to see which actor and movie honoured with the award.

Along with AK Bir, jury include filmmakers Priyanandanan, Sundar Das, Sudevan, singer VT Murali, script writer P.F. Mathews, actress Shanti Krishna, Mahesh Panju who is the secretary of Kerala Chalachitra Academy, sound designer Arun Nambiar and critic Dr. Meena T Pillai.


More from entertainment

In Pics

View All