1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. National
  4. Congress leader Gurjit Singh Aujla wins

Congress leader Gurjit Singh Aujla wins bypolls to Amritsar LS seat

India TV Politics Desk Amritsar 11 Mar 2017, 21:05:17
Congress leader Gurjit Singh Aujla wins bypolls...

Congress youth leader Gurjit Singh Aujla today won bypolls to Amritsar Lok Sabha seat, defeating Rajinder Mohan Singh Chhina of BJP by 1,99,189 votes.

The bypoll was necessitated after the seat was vacated in November 2016 by Punjab Congress chief Amarinder Singh following the Supreme Court verdict on a presidential reference on the contentious Sutlej-Yamuna Link (SYL) Canal issue.

Amarinder Singh had won the seat in the 2014 general elections in a high-profile contest against Bharatiya Janata Party's Arun Jaitley, who is at present the Union Finance Minister, by over one lakh votes.

The vote margin this time over for Congress candidate is bigger than in 2014.



More from politics

In Pics

View All