Manipur Assembly results: Counting for 60 seats to begin at 8 AM today

Counting of votes for 60 seats in the Manipur Assembly election will be taken up at eight AM today for which 11 counting centres have been set up.
Counting for 60 seats of Manipur Assembly to... Source: PTI
India TV Politics Desk Imphal March 11, 2017 7:48 IST

Counting of votes in the Manipur Assembly election will be taken up at eight AM today for which 11 counting centres have been set up. 

Chief Electoral Officer V K Dewangan told reporters here that results of Chandel, Jiribam, Senapati and Kangpokpi would take "minimal time". 

He said that the result in the Thoubal constituency, where rights activist Irom Sharmila is pitted against Chief Minister O Ibobi Sing, is likely to take more time. 

He said central para-military forces were guarding the EVMs as prohibitory orders under Section 144 CrPC were imposed by the District magistrates near the perimeter of all counting halls. 

He said that despite logistical difficulties due to the ongoing economic blockade and prevailing law and order situation, elections have been completed smoothly. 

Poling across 60 seats were held in two-phase on March 4 (38 seats) and 8 (22 seats). In the first phase, the turnout was 84 per cent whereas in the second phase a record 86 per cent electorate had exercised their franchise.

The state is currently governed by Congress. The state is considered a powerful centre for Congress.

The term of the present Assembly expires on March 18, 2017.  

Chunav Manch Gujarat 2017
killer smog

You May Like


More from politics

Assembly Elections 2017