Manohar Parrikar to be new Goa Chief Minister, says Nitin Gadkari

Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar was selected this morning by the party's legislators in Goa as their choice for Chief Minister. “Parrikar will be the next chief minister of Goa," said Union minister Nitin Gadkari. Bharatiya
Manohar Parrikar to be new Goa Chief Minister,...
India TV Politics Desk Panaji March 12, 2017 20:52 IST

Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar will be the chief minister once again in a BJP-led government in Goa, Union Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari announced on Sunday.

"The Defence Minister will resign before he takes oath as the new Goa Chief Minister," Gadkari told reporters here after the BJP Parliamentary Board met in New Delhi.

Earlier, Bharatiya Janata Party leaders, led by Parrikar, met Goa Governor Mridula Sinha to stake claim to forming the government in the coastal state.

Gadkari said the BJP has support of 21 lawmakers in the 40-member house and "we are likely to get the support of one or two MLAs".

The Bharatiya Janata Party won 13 seats while the Congress bagged 17. The remaining seats went to Goa Forward Party and the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (three each), Nationalist Congress Party (one) and Independents (three).

(With inputs from IANS)

Chunav Manch Gujarat 2017
Assembly Elections 2017

You May Like


More from politics

Assembly Elections 2017