Ford Assembly election results 2017
  • Akamai
  • CP Plus

PM Modi to visit Nagpur on Ambedkar Jayanti today, to launch slew of development projects

On the occasion of Ambedkar Jayanti today, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be in Nagpur. The Prime Minister expected to arrive here at around 11:45 am.
File pic of PM Narendra Modi - India TV
India TV Politics Desk Nagpur April 14, 2017 10:27 IST

On the occasion of Ambedkar Jayanti today, Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be in Nagpur. The Prime Minister expected to arrive here at around 11:45 am.

From airport, he will directly head towards Deekshabhoomi -- a sacred place closely associated with the Dalit icon BR Ambedkar and inaugurate a number of development projects.

"In Nagpur, I will pray at Deekshabhoomi, a holy spot that is very closely associated with Dr Ambedkar," PM Modi tweeted.

Deekshabhoomi is a sacred Buddhist monument where Ambedkar had converted to Buddhism on the occasion of Ashok Vijaya Dashami on October 14, 1956.

"We are unwavering in our efforts towards creating a strong, prosperous and inclusive India of Dr Ambedkar's dreams (sic)," PM Modi added.

A number of development projects will be inaugurated in Nagpur today, which will have a positive impact on people's lives, the Prime Minister said.

The projects include an IIIT, an IIM, an AIIMS and the Koradi thermal power station. He will also address a public meeting.

"Will join culmination of the DigiDhan Mela, where I will present awards to Mega Draw winners of Lucky Grahak Yojana and DigiDhan Vyapar Yojna (sic)," PM Modi said in another tweet.

Providing details about PM Modi's visit, the Nagpur district information office said in a release that he will arrive at the city airport at 10.45 am, from where he will head to Deekshabhoomi to pay homage to Ambedkar on his 126th birth anniversary.

Thereafter, PM Modi will leave for the Koradi thermal power station where he will dedicate Mahagenco's 1,980-MW Koradi Thermal Power project to the nation in the presence of Maharashtra Governor C Vidyasagar Rao.

Around 12.25 pm, he will attend the inauguration programme of various government schemes, organised by NITI Aayog, at the Divisional Sports Complex, Mankapur. He will also release a postal stamp on Deekshabhoomi and address the people on the occasion.

The NITI Aayog programme at Mankapur will include the launch of BHIM cashback and referral schemes of BHIM Aadhaar, awarding the winners of the Lucky Grahak Yojana and DigiDhan Vyapar Yojana and the bhoomi pujan of the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana, AIIMS Nagpur, IIM-Nagpur and IIIT-Nagpur, the release said.

Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, Union ministers Nitin Gadkari, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Prakash Javadekar, Piyush Goyal, Ramdas Athawale, Hansraj Ahir and other leaders will be present on the occasion.

At 2.10 pm, PM Modi will leave for Delhi.

With PTI Inputs 


You May Like


More from politics