BJP wins Rajouri Garden Assembly bypoll in Delhi, AAP humiliated at third spot

In a major humiliation for the ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), it's candidate Harjeet Singh finished at the third spot.
Manjinder Singh Sirsa, Manoj Tiwari
India TV Politics Desk New Delhi April 13, 2017 12:13 IST

The BJP has won the Rajouri Garden assembly bypolls in Delhi with a comfortable margin over the Congress which finished as the runner up.

The BJP candidate Manjinder Singh Sirsa defeated his Congress rival Meenakshi Chandela by over 14,000 votes.

The BJP candidate got  40,602 votes at the end of the counting.

In a major humiliation for the ruling Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), it's candidate Harjeet Singh lost his deposit and finished at the third spot.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) candidate Harjeet Singh could manage to get only 10, 243 votes.



Around 47 per cent of the west Delhi seat’s over 1.6 lakh electors had cast their vote on April 9. 


The seat fell vacant early this year after AAP’s Jarnail Singh quit as MLA to contest Punjab Assembly poll against SAD patron Parkash Singh Badal. 


For the BJP and the Congress, success in the bye-election was crucial for their continuing relevance in the city’s politics while it will be a test for the AAP’s popularity.

Chunav Manch Gujarat 2017
Assembly Elections 2017

You May Like


More from politics

Assembly Elections 2017