1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. National
  4. UP election results: CM Akhilesh Yadav

UP election results: CM Akhilesh Yadav submits resignation to Governor Ram Naik

India TV Politics Desk Lucknow 11 Mar 2017, 20:59:55
Akhilesh Yadav submits resignation to Governor...

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav today tendered his resignation to Governor Ram Naik after his Samjawadi Party's massive defeat in Assembly polls. 

The Governor has accepted his resignation and has asked him to continue till further arrangements, a Raj Bhawan spokesman said. 

Soon after accepting defeat at a hurriedly convened press conference, Akhilesh proceeded to Raj Bhawan to put in his papers. 

Earlier while addressing media, he had stated that he will review the performance of his party booth-wise to find out the reasons of defeat and stressed that perhaps the people voted for more development. 

The BJP has more than doubled its vote share in Uttar Pradesh to nearly 40 per cent since the last assembly elections though there is a slight drop since the Lok Sabha polls of 2014. 

The BJP's rival parties -- the SP, the BSP and the Congress -- have all seen their vote shares decline sharply since the 2012 assembly polls in Uttar Pradesh though there is surprisingly not much change since their share in the Lok Sabha elections of 2014. 

While the BJP has emerged victorious in UP after 14 years with over 3.4 crore votes, the rivals appeared to have failed in converting their vote shares into an equivalent seat share. 

As per the results, the BJP has got a grant victory by winning 311 seats in the 403-member Assembly. In terms of the vote share data, as available with the Election Commission, the BJP was polled 39.7 per cent, followed by the BSP with 22.2 per cent and SP 21.8 per cent. 

Congress could get only 6.3 per cent (over 54 lakh votes). Among others, the Rashtriya Lok Dal got less than 2 per cent vote share and the CPI had just 0.2 per cent, while 0.9 per cent or over 7.5 lakh votes were cast for NOTA (None Of The Above). Independent candidates won three seats with 2.6 per cent votes.



More from politics

In Pics

View All