1. Home
  2. Politics
  3. National
  4. UP polls: All eyes on Azamgarh,

UP polls: All eyes on Azamgarh, Gorakhpur and Mau as campaigning for sixth phase ends today

India TV Politics Desk Lucknow 02 Mar 2017, 16:04:29
UP polls: Campaigning for sixth phase ends today ...

Campaigning in the 49 Assembly seats across seven districts of eastern UP that go to polls in the sixth phase of elections in Uttar Pradesh on March 4 will draw to a close today, with Samajwadi Party patron Mulayam Singh Yadav's Azamgarh Lok Sabha constituency in focus.

Eyes will also be on Gorakhpur, the Lok Sabha constituency of firebrand BJP leader Yogi Adityanath, and Mau, where jailed gangster-turned-MLA Mukhtar Ansari is in the fray.

This phase, the penultimate of the seven-phase exercise, will also cover certain districts bordering Nepal.

Around 1.72 crore voters, including 94.60 lakh male and 77.84 lakh female, are eligible to decide the fate of 635 candidates.

The districts going to polls in the sixth phase are Mau, Maharajganj, Kushinagar, Gorakhpur, Deoria, Azamgarh and Ballia.

Azamgarh has 10 assembly seats, of which SP had won nine in 2012, but this time Mulayam has not addressed a single meeting in his parliamentary constituency.

Besides Adityanath, the prestige of Union minister Kalraj Mishra, who represents Deoria in the Lok Sabha, will also be at stake.

Other prominent candidates testing their mettle in this phase include BSP turncoat Swami Prasad Maurya from Padrauna (Kushinagar), former BJP state president Surya Pratap Shahi from Pathardeva (Deoria), Shyam Bahadur Yadav (SP), son of former Governor Ram Naresh Yadav from Fulpur Pawai (Azamgarh), SP turncoats Ambika Chowhdury and Narai Rai, who are contesting on BSP ticket from Fefna (Ballia) and Ballia Sadar.

While Mukhtar is contesting from Mau, his son Abbas is in fray from the adjoining Ghosi seat in Mau district.

In the 2012 Assembly polls, of the 49 seats, 27 were won by the SP, nine by the BSP, 7 by BJP, 4 by Congress and 2 by others.


There will be 17,926 polling booths in this phase.

The highest number of candidates are in Gorakhpur (23) and the lowest of seven candidates are in Mohammadabad Gohna seat in Mau district.


More from politics

In Pics

View All